Rededication of Lincoln Markers

8th Judicial Circuit (1847-1853)

Tazewell County President's Day Rededication Of Abraham Lincoln Circuit Markers

  • What: Rededication of Tazewell County Abraham Lincoln Markers
  • Where: Inside Tazewell County Courthouse
  • When: February 21st at 10:00am

2022 marks the 100th Anniversary of the placement by the Lincoln Circuit Marking Association (under the auspices of the Daughters of the American Revolution of Illinois and led by Lottie Jones of Danville) of Courthouse Markers and County Line  Markers throughout Central Illinois. These Courthouse Markers and County Line Markers highlight the location of the Illinois Eighth Judicial Circuit between 1847 and 1859, when this route was transverse by a young lawyer named Abraham Lincoln.

For this Rededication Of Tazewell County Abraham Lincoln Markers event, a wreath will be placed at the Courthouse Marker by the speakers gathered. In advance of the event, the Mayors of Washington and Delavan will place a wreath at their respective County Line Markers.

Rededication Event Speakers:

  • 10th Judicial Circuit Chief Judge Katherine Gorman
  • Tazewell County Presiding Judge Paul Gilfillan
  • Tazewell County State's Attorney Stewart Umholtz
  • Tazewell County Circuit Clerk Lincoln Hobson
  • Tazewell County Clerk John C. Ackerman
  • Mayor of Washington Gary Manier
  •  Mayor of Delavan Elizabeth Skinner.

Keynote Address will be from renowned Abraham Lincoln Scholar and author of the book "Looking For Lincoln In Illinois: A Guide To Lincoln's Eighth Judicial Circuit" Guy Fraker.

This Rededication Event will be FREE and open to the public. Children are strongly encouraged to attend. Media coverage of this event is welcome and appreciated.

The 19 County Line Markers act as guidepost to the route traveled by Abraham Lincoln between 1847 - 1859 across the vast Eighth Judicial Circuit. Uniquely made of pressed concrete with a bronze plaque, they were designed by Edgar Martin of the Illinois State Department of Public Works and Buildings at an original total cost of $2,887. Only 14 County-line Markers remain today. The 17 Courthouse Markers were placed at the Courthouses of the Eighth Judicial Circuit 1847 - 1859. Constructed of New Hampshire Greens Landing granite 5 feet 6 inches by 2 feet 4 inches and 12 inches thick, they were designed by Henry Bacon, the architect of the Lincoln Memorial in Washington DC, at an original total cost $4,950. All 17 Courthouse Markers
still survive today.

In Tazewell County, we are blessed to have the Courthouse Marker at the entrance of the Tazewell County Courthouse and two County Line Markers;

  • Tazewell/Woodford on Washington Blacktop outside Washington
  • Tazewell/Logan on Delavan Road outside Delavan.
February 21, 2022 at 10:00am - 11am
Tazewell County Court House
342 Court St
Pekin, IL 61554
United States
Google map and directions
John C. Ackerman · · (309) 477-2267

Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • Virg Cihla - Administrator - Tazewell County Republicans
    published this page in Calendar 2022-01-17 22:27:46 -0600
Calendar Be Informed Volunteer